Log in
Log in


2023 Stevenson Award Recipient

Dr. Stephanie Green

Assistant Professor
Department of Biological Sciences 

University of Alberta

The Stevenson Lectureship is a prestigious lectureship instituted in memory of Cam Stevenson, the long-time Editor of the Canadian Journal of Fisheries and Aquatic Sciences (CJFAS). The lectureship is conferred upon a young, energetic, and creative researcher at the cutting edge of an aquatic discipline.

The Lecturer delivers a stimulating presentation of their work as the keynote address in the opening session of the annual Canadian Conference for Fisheries Research (CCFFR) meeting. The Lecturer is invited to submit a manuscript, based on their Stevenson Lecture, to CJFAS.

The 2023 winner is Dr. Stephanie Green, Canada Research Chair in Aquatic Global Change Ecology & Conservation, and Assistant Professor, Department of Biological Sciences, University of Alberta. Dr. Green is the PI of the Aquatic Global Change Ecology and Conservation Laboratory at the University of Alberta. The Green Lab studies the causes and consequences of biodiversity change in aquatic ecosystems. Their work covers a range of topics, with many of their papers focusing on science-based tools to inform conservation and restoration decision-making. Since starting her faculty position, Dr. Green has published well over 25 papers and has supervised 8 graduate and 6 undergraduate students.

We look forward to the meeting in Montreal where Dr. Green will present a plenary lecture on her exciting research.


In the Spring of each year, a call for nominations is sent to the Chairs of zoology and biology departments across Canada, as well as to the research directors of Fisheries and Oceans Canada, Environment Canada, and the National Research Council. The list of nominees is then sent to the CJFAS Editorial Board, who provide recommendations and justification for their selections.

At this time, the award is administered by CJFAS editors.


2023    Stephanie Green

2022    Chelsea Rochman

2021    Jennifer Korosi

2020    Mark Poesch

2019    Sean Anderson

2018    Nigel Hussey

2017    Trevor Pitcher

2016    Julia Baum

2015    Martin Krkosek

2014    Jonathan Moore

2013    Steven J. Cooke

2012    D. Fraser

2011    J. Olden

2010    B. Neff

2009    J. Vander Zanden

2008    A. Hendry

2007    K. Kidd

2006    C. Brauner

2005    P. Ross

2004    J. Blais

2003    J. Reynolds

2002    P. Pepin

2001    J. Rasmussen

2000    D. Boisclair

1999    L. Bernatchez

1998    B. Tufts

1997    M.M. Ferguson

1996    J.A. Hutchings

1995    No award

1994    S.E. Capana

1993    D.G. Dixon

1992    K.T. Frank

1991    M.R. Gross

1990    R.M. Peterman

1989    P.V. Hodson

1988    J.W. Loder

1987    W.C. Leggett

1986    No award

1985    R. Hilborn

1984    L. Legendre

1983    L.M. Dill

1982    D. Ware

COPYRIGHT © 2022 Society of Canadian Aquatic Sciences


Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software